News Archives

  • UNM
  • >Home
  • >News
  • >2014
  • >May
  • >School of Engineering honors outstanding students, faculty and staff at annual awards ceremony

School of Engineering honors outstanding students, faculty and staff at annual awards ceremony

May 9, 2014 - By Kim Delker

The University of New Mexico School of Engineering honored its outstanding students, faculty and staff and its annual award luncheon on May 9.

Dean Joseph L. Cecchi served as master of ceremonies at the event. Awards were given out in the auditorium of the Centennial Engineering Center, then lunch was served on the Centennial courtyard.

The new Formula SAE car for this season also made its debut at the awards before it toured through campus the rest of the afternoon. UNM’s team will compete in the international competition in Lincoln, Neb., June 18-21.

The following students, faculty and staff were honored:

Pre-Major Awards

Outstanding Freshman — Taylor Linker
Outstanding Sophomore — Ashley Roach
MEP Outstanding Leadership — Hiram Crook

Chemical and Nuclear Engineering

Outstanding Junior — Bryan Erdmann
Outstanding Senior — Melissa Hernandez
Outstanding Graduate Student — Christina Salas

Civil Engineering

Outstanding Junior — Maxwell C. Terry
Outstanding Senior — Marie A. Van Der Geest
Outstanding Graduate Student — Ryan P. Morrison

Computer Science

Outstanding Junior — Ezra Stallings
Outstanding Senior — Alan Kuntz
Outstanding Graduate Student — Aleksandra Faust

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Outstanding Junior — Regina F. Eckert
Outstanding Senior — Artem Kuskov
Outstanding Graduate Student — Siva Tharun Patibandla

Mechanical Engineering

Outstanding Junior — Samantha Lemon
Outstanding Senior — Jon Vigil
Outstanding Graduate Student — Ben Rael

Staff Awards

Lourdes Garcia-O’Keefe — Engineering Student Services
Elmyra Grelle — Electrical and Computer Engineering
Sandy Griffenberg — Computer Science

Faculty Awards

Junior Faculty Teaching Excellence — Adam Hecht
Senior Faculty Teaching Excellence — Charles Fleddermann
Junior Faculty Research Excellence — Eva Y. Chi
Senior Faculty Research Excellence — Darko Stefanovic