News Archives

Brueck Named STC.UNM's First Innovation Fellow

April 26, 2010

steve-brueckDr. Steven Brueck has been named as the first STC.UNM Innovation Fellow. Brueck, a Distinguished Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Physics & Astronomy, was recognized as one of UNM’s top innovators at the 7th Annual STC Creative Awards Reception held recently.

Photo: Steven Brueck

Lisa Kuuttila, President of STC.UNM, said, “Steve Brueck has a long career of innovation at UNM, including 28 issued patents and 9 license agreements, with many commercialization successes. This award recognizes his significant achievements in translating his research results into commercial applications.”

Brueck has been an integral part of ECE and is the long time Director of UNM’s Center of High Technology Materials. The center celebrated its 25th anniversary last year. Brueck is a Fellow of IEEE, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Optical Society of America, and he is a recipient of the IEEE Third Millennium Award. He was honored in 2009 by NM Business Weekly as one of it’s first-ever “Who's Who in Technology” award recipients. He was named in the Technologists category. In addition, Brueck is on the Scientific Advisory Board of the Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies (CINT) at Sandia National Laboratories and on the Board of Directors of LightPath Technologies.

Brueck’s research group at CHTM is actively involved in the extension of optical lithography to the 32-nanometer half-pitch industry node and beyond. The researchers are interested in using these nanoscale lithographic capabilities to investigate nanophotonics and nanofluidics aimed at biological application.

Brueck has more than 350 refereed publications, has presented more than 200 invited papers and seminars. In addition, Brueck has served on a number of National Academies panels, including a recently published study on nanophotonics.