News Archives

  • UNM
  • >Home
  • >News
  • >2019
  • >April
  • >2019 STC.UNM Innovation Awards Dinner honors several School of Engineering inventors

2019 STC.UNM Innovation Awards Dinner honors several School of Engineering inventors

April 24, 2019 - By Kim Delker

stc logo

STC.UNM hosted its 16th annual Innovation Awards Dinner on April 23 at The University of New Mexico Student Union Building. The event honored 58 faculty, staff and students who have received issued U.S. patents and registered U.S. copyrights/trademarks within the past year, including many from the School of Engineering.

The 2019 STC.UNM Innovation Fellow Award was presented to Dr. Angela Wandinger-Ness, who was recognized for her achievements as an outstanding UNM inventor. She is a professor in the Department of Pathology, the Victor and Ruby Hansen Surface Endowed Professor in Cancer Cell Biology & Clinical Translation, and the associate director for education, training and mentoring at the Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Inventor Honorees

The following UNM faculty, staff and students received issued U.S. patents and a registered trademark within the past year (March 1, 2018 - February 28, 2019):

Geoffrey C. Adams, Ph.D.
Andrew A. Aragon
Ladan Arissian, Ph.D.
Sanjeev Arora, M.D.
Plamen B. Atanassov, Ph.D.
Ganesh Balakrishnan, Ph.D.
C. Jeffrey Brinker, Ph.D.
Steven R. J. Brueck, Ph.D.
Thomas P. Caudell, Ph.D.
Francesca Cavallo, Ph.D.
Bryce C. Chackerian, Ph.D.
Alexandre Chigaev, Ph.D.
Lorraine M. Deck, Ph.D.
Ivan H. Deutsch, Ph.D.
Jean-Claude Diels, Ph.D.
Elizabeth L. Dirk, Ph.D.
Bruce S. Edwards, Ph.D.
Jeremy S. Edwards, Ph.D.
Nima Fathi, Ph.D.
Daniel F. Feezell, Ph.D.
Pamela Hall, Ph.D.
Sang E. Han, Ph.D.
Sang M. Han, Ph.D.
Mark Hauswald, M.D.
Mark K. Haynes, Ph.D.
Stephen D. Hersee, Ph.D.
Jeff W. Hill, Ph.D.
Linnea K. Ista, Ph.D.
Ravinder K. Jain, Ph.D.
Richard S. Larson, M.D., Ph.D.
Seung-Chang Lee, Ph.D.
Shuang (Sean) Luan, Ph.D.
Andrea A. Mammoli, Ph.D.
Vijay S. Mangu
Anthony R. Menicucci
Abdullah Mueen, Ph.D.
Pavan Muttil, Ph.D.
Alexander Neumann, Ph.D.
Jeffrey P. Norenberg, Pharm.D., Ph.D.
Marios S. Pattichis, Ph.D.
Surojit Paul, Ph.D.
David S. Peabody, Ph.D.
Dominique R. Perez
Dimiter N. Petsev, Ph.D.
James F. Plusquellic, Ph.D.
Dominique N. Price, Ph.D.
Edl Schamiloglu, Ph.D.
Laurel O. Sillerud, Ph.D.
Larry A. Sklar, Ph.D.
John C. Stormont, Ph.D.
Mahmoud R. Taha, Ph.D.
Graham S. Timmins, Ph.D.
Alan E. Tomkinson, Ph.D.
Peter V. Vorobieff, Ph.D.
David G. Whitten, Ph.D.
Cheryl L. Willman, M.D.
Terry H. Wu, Ph.D.
Payman Zarkesh-Ha, Ph.D.