News Archives

School of Engineering’s Distinguished Alumni Awards to be held Nov. 17

October 1, 2023 - By Kim Delker

2022 DAA promo photo
The 2022 Distinguished Alumni Awards, with (left to right) Mahmoud Taha, former chair of the Gerald May Department of Civil, Construction and Envionmental Engineering; UNM Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs James Holloway; honoree Doug Campbell; and Christos Christodoulou, former Jim and Ellen King Dean of Engineering and Computing.

The UNM School of Engineering is hosting its annual Distinguished Alumni Award event to recognize the achievements of some of its outstanding graduates. Ticket and table sales are now open through Nov. 3.

The award ceremony will be Nov. 17 at Sandia Resort and Casino. The reception begins at 5:30 p.m., with dinner and the awards ceremony starting at 7 p.m.

To RSVP or for questions and information about tickets, table or sponsorship, contact Nicole Arsenault at

This year’s honorees are:

  • Clark Dickson, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Jennifer Toth, Gerald May Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • Derek Smith, Department of Computer Science
  • Casey Anglada DeRaad and John Conover, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Steven Renfro, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Nicholas Morley, Department of Nuclear Engineering
  • George Cathey, Young Alumni Award