News Archives

ME Student Named Clauve Outstanding Senior Awards Winner

April 16, 2009

The Dean of Students has announced the winners of the Clauve Outstanding Senior Awards. The students were honored at a recognition reception on Thursday, April 16. The winners are Desbah Ahtsoaq Bill Benally, Michaela Brown, Chris Chaves, Joseph M. Dworak, Ashley C. Fate, Molly Maguire-Marshall and Alex D. Riebli. Chaves is a mechanical engineering major who has served in leadership roles for the fraternity Lambda Theta Phi including historian, secretary, vice president and president. He acted as chair and vice chair for the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics as well as team co-lead for the Society of Automotive Engineers. He has been on the School of Engineering Honor Roll since 2008. Chaves has volunteered for several organizations within and around Albuquerque including La Raza Unida, Albuquerque Partnership and Big Brothers Big Sisters.