News Archives

UNM Provost Launches Search for School of Engineering Dean

October 14, 2009

John Pieper, Dean of the College of Pharmacy will chair the search for the new dean of the School of Engineering at UNM. The university is seeking a visionary leader for the school, which has more than 100 faculty members in five academic departments including Chemical and Nuclear Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. There are about 1,100 undergraduate and 600 graduate students in the school.

To view the job description visit: SOE Dean

The search committee has seven engineering faculty members including Patrick Bridges, associate professor in Computer Science; Steve Brueck, director of the Center for High Technology Materials and professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics and Astronomy; Vince Calhoun, associate professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and chief technology officer at the Mind Research Network;, Heather Canavan, assistant professor of Chemical and Nuclear Engineering, Julie Coonrod, associate professor of Civil Engineering, Tariq Khraishi, associate professor of Mechanical Engineering; and Tim Ward, chair of the Chemical and Nuclear Engineering Department.

Sandra Begay-Campbell, Sandia National Laboratories staff member and former member of the UNM Board of Regents; and Julia Phillips, director of the Physical, Chemical and Nanoscience Center at SNL are also on the committee, along with former UNM professor and Mathworks Founder Cleve Moler, staff members Pam Hurd-Knief and Mimi Stephens, and graduate student Rebecca Martinez.

The provost’s office hopes the new dean will begin work in summer 2010.