News Archives

UNM School of Engineering Awards Honor Outstanding Students, Faculty and Staff

May 10, 2010

kshanti-stephanieThe UNM School of Engineering Annual Awards recognized 27 outstanding students, faculty, and staff at a luncheon attended by over 400 people on Friday, May 7, 2010. “Our outstanding faculty and staff each have unique talents and passions representing the primary values of the School of Engineering: teaching, research and service,” said Interim Dean Arup Maji, who hosted the event.  “Today it is our pleasure to honor the 2010 award recipients and their diverse achievements."

Photo: Kshanti Greene, who received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award in Computer Science, is congratulated by Computer Science Chair Stephanie Forrest and School of Engineering Interim Dean Arup Maji

Each year, awards are given to outstanding sophomore, junior, senior, and graduate students from each department on the basis of grade point average, research and service to the school. An outstanding freshman and a sophomore from the pre-major program are chosen based on similar criteria. Staff awards are given for attitude, performance, contribution and initiative. Awards are given to faculty members for teaching and research at junior and senior levels.

Two awards are funded by community members. Stanley E. Harrison, a Mechanical Engineering alum, endows the Harrison Faculty Recognition Award, honoring innovative community service on a societal, national or local level. QForma, an advanced analytics and predictive modeling company, funds an award to the most outstanding computational MS thesis or PhD dissertation within the current academic year, as well as an award for extraordinarily promising junior faculty researcher in Computer Science.

Following are the 2010 engineering awards and their recipients:

Faculty Awards

taha-arupJunior Faculty Teaching Excellence Award: Civil Engineering Assistant Professor Andy Schuler

Junior Faculty Research Excellence Award: Civil Engineering Associate Professor Mahmoud Taha (shown at left)

Senior Faculty Teaching Excellence Award: Electrical & Computer Engineering Professor and ECE Associate Chair Greg Heileman (shown at right)

Senior Faculty Research Excellence Award: Distinguished Professor of Computer Science 
Deepak Kapur

greg-arup-chuckHarrison Faculty Recognition Award: Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Tariq Khraishi 

QForma Award
Outstanding Dissertation: Nicholas Pattengale, PhD, CS, 2010

Student Awards

david-steve-rogerFreshman Pre-Major: Roger O. Iveson (right)

Sophomore Pre-Major: David G. Gutierrez (left)

Chemical & Nuclear Engineering 

  • Outstanding Junior: Margaret Root
  • Outstanding Senior: Kathleen Martinick
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Carlee Ashley

Civil Engineering

  • Outstanding Junior: Joshuah Flint
  • Outstanding Senior: Christopher Brickey
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Aaron Reinhardt

Computer Science

  • Outstanding Junior: John Donahue
  • Outstanding Senior: Christian Romano
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Kshanti Greene

Electrical & Computer Engineering

  • Outstanding Junior: Gennifer Smith
  • Outstanding Senior: Ryan Clark
  • Outstanding Graduate Student:  Woo-Yong Jang

Mechanical Engineering

  • Outstanding Junior: Michael Stromberg
  • Outstanding Senior: Casey Dyck
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Masoud Safdari

Outstanding Staff Awards 
Mark Dalen from Mechanical Engineering
Mike Majedi from Electrical & Computer Engineering
Doug Williams from Engineering Student Services