News Archives

Three receive inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards

February 5, 2020 - by Kim Delker

Three faculty in the School of Engineering have been selected as the inaugural Dean’s Excellence Lectureship Award winners.

The recipients of the 2019-20 awards are:

  • Lydia Tapia, associate professor of computer science
  • Francesco Sorrentino, associate professor of mechanical engineering
  • Sang Eon Han, associate professor of chemical and biological engineering
photo of Tapia, Sorrentino, Han
From left: Tapia, Sorrentino, Han

The recipients will hold the title through the 2021-22 academic year.

The Dean’s Excellence Lectureship Award was established this academic year as a way to reward outstanding faculty who have been nominated for the UNM Regents’ Lecturer or Professor titles but not selected. The dean and the faculty member’s department chair must both agree to the award. Winners receive $2,000 per year for three academic years. Candidates can receive the title only once per academic grade (assistant, associate, professor), even if they are nominated for a Regents’ award more than once.

Regents’ Lectureship and Professorship awards are based upon nomination letters; research, teaching and service; and published papers. A full list of criteria can be found in the Faculty Handbook.

The current Regents’ Lectureship holder in the School of Engineering is Daniel Feezell from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He was selected in 2019, and his term will continue through October 2021. The Regents’ Professorship holder in the School is Andrew Shreve from the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, who was selected in 2018 and will retain the title until October 2020. Past recipients from the School of Engineering can be found here.