News Archives

2021 Goldwater Foundation Award announces four UNM winners

March 29, 2021 - by Rachel Whitt

From the UNM Newsroom

The 2021 Goldwater Foundation Awards were just announced, with all four nominees from The University of New Mexico named winners – all women. Ryla Josephine Cantergiani, Anna Janicek, Abigail Pribisova and Sophia Salbato are among just 410 Goldwater Scholarship awardees from across the United States.

“This is the first time in my knowledge of UNM’s participation in the Goldwater Foundation Awards that all our nominees have won the award,” said Kiyoko Simmons, director of the Center for Academic Excellence & Leadership Development at UNM Honors College. “I am thrilled this prestigious national program recognizes the caliber of UNM students and their potential in representing our institution through the continuation of their studies.”

The Foundation chooses Goldwater Scholars based on impressive academic and research credentials that have garnered the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs. Goldwater Scholars have been awarded 94 Rhodes Scholarships, 150 Marshall Scholarships, 170 Churchill Scholarships, 109 Hertz Fellowships,and numerous other distinguished awards like the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships. The UNM Goldwater Committee includes Tariq Khraishi, Summer Hayek, Jeffrey Rack, Sally Seidel, and Stephen Stricker.

Read the full story