News Archives

New leadership announced in two School departments

May 31, 2023 - by Kim Delker

Donna Riley, Jim and Ellen King Dean of Engineering and Computing, has announced new leadership in two School of Engineering departments, effective this summer.

In the Gerald May Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, Susan Bogus Halter, AGC Endowed Chair and professor in the department, is interim chair, effective immediately. Mahmoud Taha, distinguished professor in the department, stepped down as chair at the end of the academic year after serving as chair since 2014.

And in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Professor Mark Gilmore will serve as interim chair beginning Aug. 1. Michael Devetsikiotis, professor in the department, will be stepping down from the leadership position he has held since 2016. Gilmore was acting chair of the department in fall 2022 while Devetsikiotis was on sabbatical.

Riley will seek approval from the provost to conduct national searches for the next permanent chairs of both departments over the coming academic year.